Mom used to say
“Don’t open the door for strangers”
I guess I just wanted to be kind to my guests
And so I opened it anyway.

A long time they stayed
“Maybe they’re happy here”
So I closed the door
And kept serving tea for them.

But days passed
And the porcelain cups were stacking up, undrank
I could see their lively eyes
When they stared out of the windows
And I’ve decided
I should let them go.

One by one faded into the mist
But they left their balloons of hearts with me
I kept them safe in my room
Full of other heart balloons
And then I heard it again.

Knock knock

“Hi welcome”

This time,
They have knives in the pocket
But they seem happy to enter
And I want to be polite too.

“Come in”.

N.N.

One thought on “knock knock

Leave a Reply

